Skip to content

Not long until the theory test changes!

22 December 2011
by

On 23 January 2012 the DSA will make several changes to the driving theory test. You may already be aware of these changes but if you haven’t or just need a reminder, here are the details of what’s taking place:

  • Cessation of the publication of live theory test question banks – This means that the questions used for revision are not the same as the questions used in the test. A new, secret, question bank will be used for the test.
  • A separate practice question bank for study purposes – These are the new questions used in theory test study materials. Any older resources (i.e. books or CDs from 2010, 2009 or earlier) will not have the new questions.
  • All study materials to include new knowledge and understanding text – The DSA requires study materials to include their official explanations to help ensure candidates fully understand the answer to each question.

Theory Test Pro has been fully updated to include all these changes and any subsequent alterations.

There are concerns among some candidates that this will make the test significantly harder, the DSA has confirmed the reason behind the move is  ‘to stop candidates from simply memorising theory test questions and answers and learning by rote’. However, unlike the traditional books and CDs, Theory Test Pro allows users to take mock tests, track their performance, and monitor any weak spots. This ensures candidates will have the required understanding of driving theory when they’re ready to take the test.

Get ahead of the test changes

If you’re not already using Theory Test Pro, then now is a great time to start. You can setup a free account by clicking the button below.

48 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    22 December 2011 6:38 pm

    Hi all

    The theory test actually changes from 23 January 2012. From that date,the theory test will be made up of multiple-choice questions which are no longer published in learning materials.

    Here’s the latest from the Driving Standards Agency:
    http://www.dft.gov.uk/news/stories/dsa-news-20111212

    • Henry permalink*
      22 December 2011 9:47 pm

      Hi John, Thanks for raising this. We have only just learnt about the postponing of these changes. I’ve updated this post to reflect this. Thanks again for your vigilance.

      • S K permalink
        28 December 2011 1:48 am

        What about those of us with a test before 23rd January? Have the questions already been updated? I’m confused!

  2. Elisabeth permalink
    22 December 2011 10:45 pm

    Hi, I’ve been studying day and night every night for about 5 months now, and i have already booked my theory test around 3 weeks ago so does that mean changed are gonna happen for me as my theory test is on the 2ND OF FEB? i have booked my test before these changes.. what is going to happen..

    • 23 December 2011 2:02 pm

      my theory test is on the 23 jan 2012 what do i do

      • sophie permalink
        18 January 2012 2:22 pm

        same 😦 our tests will be the new one. cant change it unless u can get in before then

  3. Charlotte permalink
    23 December 2011 4:39 pm

    My theory test is on the 24th December so are all the questions that are on the site now still relevant to the current test? [Pre. January]

    • 24 December 2011 11:20 pm

      hi was there any changes, did you pass ur test

      • Charlotte permalink
        25 December 2011 9:53 am

        Yes I passed and no changes 🙂

      • 24 January 2012 11:00 am

        hi i changed my theory date to the 16th jan i did pass in the end i was so happy cos it was my 4th attempt , and there were no changes tho.

  4. 24 December 2011 8:37 am

    I don’t know whether It’s a good idea but let’s wait and see

  5. S K permalink
    28 December 2011 6:21 pm

    What about those of us with a test before 23rd January? Have the questions already been updated? I’m confused!

  6. terri permalink
    29 December 2011 10:31 pm

    no questions will be updated until the 23rd January so to all that has your test before will still be ok xxxxx

  7. Aysha permalink
    1 January 2012 11:29 pm

    I have my test on the 2nd january, so will I still be okay. Will the theory test still contain the questions i am revising on right now?

    • S K permalink
      6 January 2012 6:43 am

      Hi, yup I just took my test yesterday (passed, yay! =D) & the questions I practiced here were the exact ones that showed up on the test =]

  8. Aysha permalink
    1 January 2012 11:30 pm

    i mean 3rd january** sorry

  9. Emily permalink
    5 January 2012 6:24 am

    My test is on the 23rd. Will the changes already be in place and will it be the new form of test for me?

  10. abi permalink
    5 January 2012 3:11 pm

    Does anyone know how the test has changed? and if so how?

    • S K permalink
      6 January 2012 6:44 am

      The questions that you practice here (or anywhere, for that matter) will NOT be the same questions as the ones on the test- they’ll be similar, but not the same

  11. Gloria permalink
    8 January 2012 4:20 pm

    my test is on the 26 of jan. will the changes affect me?

  12. kieran permalink
    9 January 2012 5:45 pm

    my test is on the 17th of this month, will i be asked the questions that are published ?

  13. gurdesh (gerdesh) permalink
    12 January 2012 9:56 am

    your just trying to make it harder to pass , which means more people are likely to fail thanks alot

  14. alan permalink
    12 January 2012 12:45 pm

    just hope i pass mine today !!!!!!!!

  15. Clanaghan permalink
    13 January 2012 2:18 pm

    Sat adi theory test yesterday passed…..so thank you Ivan Mills and theory test pro…..bit of advice for budding pdi’s….study the car theory tests also not just the adi tests

  16. Britt permalink
    15 January 2012 8:43 pm

    hello–

    I am taking my theory test on the 30th of January. Someone posted above that the questions on Theory Test Pro will be updated for the new test from the 23rd of January. I don’t know if that person has the correct information, but if they are, I am wondering how many new questions will be added because I am keen to revise them (even though, apparently, these questions will not be included on the actual test).

    If that person is not correct, I would like some clarification about when/how the test will be updated, for my confidence going into the test if nothing else.

    Don’t worry: I am also reading the Highway Code, as riveting as it is.

    Thanks for any further clarification on this point.

  17. 21 January 2012 1:59 am

    Really love theory test pro, really useful for Instructors and students

  18. georgia permalink
    23 January 2012 12:24 am

    Hi I booked a test for 26th and I booked it at the start of january, I’ve been revising constantly, is all my revising not worth it now? Will the questions on my test be changed?

    • khan permalink
      27 January 2012 12:19 am

      none of the questions r changed.i took the test today.keep practising these exercises

  19. Haroon permalink
    23 January 2012 12:47 pm

    I Pass my theory test same Question which I prepared last night heheh

    • khan permalink
      23 January 2012 2:53 pm

      were there any changes in the test question

  20. vidi permalink
    23 January 2012 2:27 pm

    I passed my theory test….people out there don’t worry, do more practice at home on line mock test. all the best

    • khan permalink
      23 January 2012 2:54 pm

      were there any changes in the test questions???

      • vidi permalink
        23 January 2012 4:55 pm

        not much….4 questions that i didn’t know where they found it from but rest of it u will automatically come to know. most important tips is read the questions and answers 2 or 3 times.

  21. nawaz permalink
    24 January 2012 1:49 pm

    i pass my test today they got some new quistion but dont worry bit change but alot same thanks theory test pro blog good luck every boddy

  22. 24 January 2012 1:57 pm

    I have wait two weeks until today because there is a notification saying that its gonna change 23rd of january but it hasn’t changed, so do I need to practice old questions or its already not useful anymore? If I practice all the question from question bank, how many percentage sure that I can meet the question in the real test?\

    thx

  23. khan permalink
    26 January 2012 2:43 pm

    I just came back from my theory test not a single question is changed,,,,carry on practising these exercises.very helpful.

    All the best

  24. kel permalink
    27 January 2012 9:37 pm

    i did my theroy on 26th of this month and failed bec there were about 13 questions there that arnt in the new theroy test pro its got much harder i prefer the old theroy much easer to do i got 41 on that and on the new one i got 37 thats how hard it was and i have been doing my theroy test day and night its really streesed me out .

  25. gurdesh permalink
    30 January 2012 9:57 am

    I’m confused some of you are saying the theory test has changed others are saying it’s not

    has it changed or not?

    • Ignorant Awareness permalink
      30 January 2012 9:13 pm

      I think the questions have changed, yes, but some of the old questions are still in there- so those who say it’s stayed the same were probably just lucky to get all of the same questions as the ones they had revised? The questions (both old & new) are probably ALL in one bank, & it’s just a matter of luck as to who gets which types of questions =S

  26. 30 January 2012 1:57 pm

    Hey I’m kindaa nervous have my test on 14th Feb (Valentines day) teheheh.
    obv the changes wud hav alread occured then??

    Anyway passed, if soo how was it?

    questions still the same?

    Thanks

    • Ignorant Awareness permalink
      30 January 2012 9:14 pm

      I think the questions have changed, yes, but some of the old questions are still in there- so those who say it’s stayed the same were probably just lucky to get all of the same questions as the ones they had revised?

      The questions (both old & new) are probably ALL in one bank, & it’s just a matter of luck as to who gets which types of questions =S

    • 1 February 2012 3:37 am

      zaiinab dont worry you will pass inshallah just the last 5 questions is deffirent be care ful abut that. i had exam 24 of january i passed.

      • 2 February 2012 10:42 am

        Hey Safar 😀

        Oh thanks for the encouragement! It helps :))

        Oh and I heard those 5 questions are general questions about situations which may occur; like a fire to your car?? Ahh I’m revising day and night, just hope it all goes well inshallah!! :))

  27. 30 January 2012 1:58 pm

    * Anyone

  28. jafor permalink
    13 February 2012 9:12 pm

    i have got the theory book 2011,im not to sure if i need to buy 2012 theory book az my theory test iz in anava 2weeks and my freinds told it shud b fine.but im still not sure.can ne1 help

  29. zara begum permalink
    13 February 2012 9:34 pm

    Hi, I don’t think you'”l need to buy theory book, my uncle passed it recently!!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. The theory test has changed. « Theory Test Pro Blog

Leave a Reply

