Skip to content

Unofficial booking services

20 June 2012

question markBeing involved in the world of theory tests as we are, occasionally we get requests from individuals who would like to book their tests through us. Being helpful types, we direct them to the relevant Directgov webpage.

A quick internet search, however, reveals that there’s quite a few companies who would charge people for the privilege, sometimes adding up to £20 to the £31 fee charged by the DSA. That’s a 65% price hike!

What do you think? Are these companies providing a useful service, or are they exploiting the unwary? Have any of your students been affected? Do you warn your students about them and link to the official Directgov webpage on your website

Join the discussion – leave a comment or click the poll below, visit our Facebook page or join the discussion on our Twitter feed!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. David Brown permalink
    21 June 2012 11:56 am

    Sorry last comment posted in error before I read it. Q. Why did the DSA change from http://www.DSA. A. Perhaps it makes it easier for the unwary to find a chargeable site. Q. Why. A. Someone or someone’s mate(s) can make money easily. Q. Does any director of any of these companies have a connection with any of the decision makers over this issue? A. I suspect so but don’t have the resources to investigate. Any keen journalist out there? Google DSA and see what links come to the top of the tree. Q. Why is the top one not the official (non- chargeable) site? A.????

  2. garethpearce permalink
    4 July 2012 10:42 am

    @David. I know the answer to at least two of those questions. The DSA moved from http://www.dsa.gov.uk as part of the Government’s directgov strategy to bring all consumer-end services under one roof – this happened across all departments, so I don’t think there’s anything sinister there.

    If you google ‘DSA’ or ‘book theory test’ the official site does come top of the ‘organic’ listings – those sites that appear above it are adverts (you’ll notice the links appear on a light yellow background) who have paid for the privilege of appearing there.

  3. 16 August 2012 11:25 pm

    whats type of bookkeeing services are youtalking about ? plz explain

    • 17 August 2012 10:16 am

      @John This article is about booking your driving theory test with the Driving Standards Agency. Booking is supposed to be free, but a number of websites add an an unnecessary charge.

  4. julie permalink
    12 April 2013 9:56 pm

    i went on a site that comes up first on google ‘book your theory test’, well i spotted on there ‘unlimited re sits if you book now’ so been the mum i am i booked my son his test and thought great even if he fails he will be able to re sit, however, it cost me £59 for the privilege. well as you guessed my son failed and then sent his fail sheet to them for them to book another one ( this was after phoning them for about 20 minutes for them to tell us what to do, costing a staggering £1.53 per minute), hence mum not happy at this point! an e-mail arrives about 7 days later stating that he did not qualify for a re sit due to the number of questions he got wrong! i complained through e-mail due to the call costing me even more money to be told ‘the pass protection scheme is clearly stated on the web site prior to the booking form and in the agreed terms and conditions’ . i went on the site and it is not clearly stated prior to booking form, you get to the end of the booking form and then at the very end of a long terms it is stated right at the end. but nothing prior even stating something like ‘ there are terms attached to re sits!’ what do i do? have i just paid £59 for a theory test and about £30 phone bill to ask what to do next as it does not tell you, and cant do nothing about it or can i take this further because i bet there are many people out there in the same boat??

  5. 14 May 2013 6:01 pm

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after browsing through many of the articles I realized it’s new to
    me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  6. 23 May 2013 5:41 pm

    Hey there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few
    of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but
    I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

  7. 20 July 2013 11:16 pm

    Good day! I just wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the good information
    you have got here on this post. I shall be coming back to
    your weblog for extra soon.

  8. 25 July 2013 2:34 pm

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of the highest quality sites on the
    net. I will highly recommend this site!

  9. 13 August 2013 3:48 am

    Not listed as a separate part is a gasket in the
    bottom of each blade. Grill a few minutes on each side, until very golden.
    Waldorf salad is one such salad that is an amalgamation of celery, apples, walnuts, and mayonnaise.

  10. 6 October 2013 9:11 pm

    Hi there colleagues, good article and nice urging commented
    at this place, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  11. 9 October 2013 2:47 am

    Three models are the SX7T CDMA, SX5T and SX5e that come with a dipole
    spike antenna. Samsung mobile phone themes also bring a wide array of categorized themes to the market.

    They offer additional services along with schemes such as high quality customer service, or money back guarantee etc.

  12. 18 October 2013 6:33 pm

    Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my
    iPad and tested to see if it can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube
    sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  13. 24 October 2013 11:00 pm

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different page and
    thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page repeatedly.

  14. 31 October 2013 6:03 pm

    Hi to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is
    getting more from this website, and your views are good designed for new viewers.

  15. 7 November 2013 10:10 pm

    Greetings, I do believe your web site could possibly be having internet browser compatibility
    problems. Whenever I take a look at your
    blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!

    Other than that, great site!

  16. 9 November 2013 10:35 am

    Thanks , I’ve just been searching for information approximately this topic for a long time and yours is the best I have discovered so far.
    However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you sure about
    the source?

  17. 19 November 2013 8:16 am

    I read this paragraph fully concerning the comparison of most up-to-date and preceding
    technologies, it’s amazing article.

  18. 2 December 2013 4:52 pm

    What a data of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable familiarity on
    the topic of unexpected emotions.

  19. 4 December 2013 6:48 pm

    Fabulous, what a weblog it is! This weblog gives useful facts to us, keep it up.

  20. 9 December 2013 3:45 am

    You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I in finding
    this matter to be really something which I believe I might never understand.

    It sort of feels too complex and very huge for me.
    I’m taking a look forward for your subsequent post, I’ll try to
    get the grasp of it!

  21. 9 January 2014 10:43 pm

    Simply want to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity in your post is just cool and i can assume you’re an expert on
    this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your
    feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding
    work.

  22. 16 January 2014 7:52 am

    Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is excellent, let alone the content!

Trackbacks

  1. HGV students left stranded « Theory Test Pro Blog

Leave a Reply

